Kritt Normsaskul…can you read my name?

No, I don’t love myself to the extent that I decide to name a blog after myself, nor am I going to write about about how brilliant I am, though I clearly am…..jokes ;) Just kidding.

I thought I would bring up my name because in Thailand, it’s so nice to know that my name isn’t considered as unusual around my colleagues. This being a Thai name and all, when I write my name down, everyone in Thailand is able to instantly read and pronounce it correctly. Back in the UK, everyone does well to read the Kritt bit but then they get horribly stuck on the surname. I’ve heard Normskul and Normanskul, Personally, I can’t see why back in the UK, people find it difficult to read it. Sure, it’s a slightly long and unusual name but if you break it down and read it syllable by syllable, then it should be easy, right? Look: NORM-SAS-KUL. Is it that difficult? Isn’t this the sort of technique we learn in primary school/kindergarten? It’s only 3 syllables. Compare my name to words such as onomatopoeia and i think mine is the easier to read. I actually consider myself lucky. I’ve seen longer Thai names.

To me, it’s a pretty big deal. I use to feel slightly embarrassed when people get stuck on my name or they ask for my surname. But now, it’s a nice feeling to know that my name isn’t unusual anymore. It’s even nicer when I know there are other Kritt’s in the world :)

2 thoughts on “Kritt Normsaskul…can you read my name?

  1. LOL I’ve seen so many Thai names, and believe me, they are hard to pronounce. Oh, and it was only recently that I learned we should pronounce Thai as Tai. No “th” sound here. But , I think Russian is harder. And I love Thai food. I just tell the waiter to go easy on the spice, haha.

  2. Haha! The food in Thailand is so awesome and so cheap! I totally agree, they really should go easy with the chili :P It’s hard to find a Thai dish without them.

What do you think? Leave a comment below!