The past month

So where have I been and what have I been doing in the past month? I’m no Houdini. I stayed at home pretty much  all this time. But there  a few small events that interested and happened around me.

First, the Olympics Committee are beginning to take payments from my account for the Olympic tickets. I can’t buy them outright given the obvious high demands for them all over the world so instead I had to apply and hope my name comes up in the ballot. I applied for 20 tickets worth up to £360 and I’ve just learnt a couple of days ago that they’ve taken £106. That means I wasn’t successful in all my applications but that’s OK. Looking back in hindsight, I guess £360 is quite a lot – a little too much than I’m willing to pay. Most of the tickets are for Boxing and Weightlifting. The reason behind this is because seeing as these are the only events that realistically Thailand can hope to win anything, they wanted to see it. I’m not even remotely interested in these sports but hey, gotta be there support my fellow Thai, right? Also, my parents only want to see these events (for the exact same reason above)  so it will be great to go and do something as a family. Most of our family day trips have dried up as dry as the desert because of the financial pressures on the family meaning my parents are working over time to cover up all our mortgages :( Sad times.

Second, The Apprentice (UK) is back! It’s been on for a while now and at the time of writing, we are now into the 4th week with 12 candidates remaining (down from 16). I gotta admit, this series’s candidates isn’t as amusing or entertaining as previous candidates from the past. There’s no one in particular you’d love to hate, or laugh at everything he/she shows their face. There’s no Raef. There’s no Stuart “The Brand” Baggs. The latest bunch seem to be pretty straighforward pros getting along with their job as it should be done. The interesting things about this season is that they’ve changed the prize. In previous series, candidates were competing for a job with Lord Alan Sugar. Now they’re competiting to go into partnership with Lord Alan to start up their own company with £250k into their start up venture. Doesn’t matter much as long as the entertainment is still there.

Third, my dentist appointment. Due to my under bite, I’ll be getting orthognathic surgery hopefully before the end of this year; and I’m getting the feeling the date of my surgery is getting closer. I started my whole treatment, starting with braces, around 1 year and 8 months ago, just as I was beginning my 3rd year at uni. It’s been a long time but I simply cannot wait to get these damn train tracks off! Willy Wonker’s chocolate factory will have to work over time the day I get them off.

Fourth, Football’s showpiece match of the season: The UEFA Champions League Final. It was played yesterday between, in my opinion, the 2 biggest teams in the World: Manchester United and Barcelona. More of my views on that in a separate post but the game finished 3-1 to Barcelona. Beat the 0-0 prediction I had for the game.

And finally, I’m still waiting for the outcome of my Master’s application. Not too much hope in that given the lateness of my submission. The Thais, and my parents are no different thinks it’s an absolute must. I MUST do it. I beg to differ. I already have a very good degree from a very good university. I could still get a very good job working in the city of London. But hey, if that’s what my parents me to do then ok I’ll do it. Just wait till they that massive bill…

So there you have it. My last month. Not much like I said but then I am on a Gap year. I did continue with piano and I have improved I’d like to say, but I don’t, from an objective point of view, think that is enough to cover up inactivities. Hopefully I’ll be a lot more busy next year.

2 thoughts on “The past month

  1. I hope you write more often. You seem to have a lot of interesting happenings to talk about.

    Take for example yours truly….. My daily life is totally routine, but , and more often than not, everytime I start writing, I hit a blank wall, but, for some reason, words just start to take off after an hour or so. Problem is, I don’t know how long I can keep this up.

    Anyway, continue blogging. I’ll be reading.

    1. Thank you for the encouragement! My life is pretty routine too and sometimes I just don’t know what to write. But sod it, I’ll just write whatever comes into my head first! I’ll be reading yours too :)

What do you think? Leave a comment below!