Yes Rebecca, it’s Friday night!

Friday night has got to be my favourite time of the week.

Apart from the obvious fact that it’s the start of the weekend, Friday night is the one time where I feel I could could really relax a little bit from the stresses that life can put on. I guess it’s down to the fact that I’ve been stuck in an academic timetable for pretty much all my life. You know, Monday to Friday is  studies at School, College, University and the weekend is free. It’s always been like that for me week in week out.  Of course, you could have projects/homework/coursework to be getting on with but seriously? Despite saying that we will, do we ever end up doing it?

After  final lessons I feel I can reward myself for a solid weeks work safe in the knowledge that a free Saturday will be there to save me if I do anything a little crazy. So what do I do? Anything to help me relax. It could be literally anything so long as it helps me take my mind of work/studies. Just to name a few, I sometimes get  the urge to hit the pub or a bar and just down a few drinks. Or I could catch a movie. Or I could do sports (soccer, tennis, ultimate frissbee..anything!)

As much as I love Friday night, I wouldn’t go and write a song about it. That would pushing it a little too far and could result in a little bit of stick from just about everybody on the planet. I certainly cringed.

Rebecca Black likes Fridays.

I’ve now graduated and out of my academic timetable. But every Friday, despite not having done anything strenuous, I still refuse to do any kind of hard work. I guess old habits die hard.

The only exceptions are  exam periods or if deadlines day are approaching whatever work that could be. Even then I just sit there gawping at my books and taking very little in. I’m just there to ease my conscious and to say I did 3/4/5 hours of study just to satisfy my conscience before guilt nag me.

Strangely, I seem to be the only one who thinks this way. My friend’s don’t feel the same way. Just me then? Saturday is there to save you!

So let me know what your favourite day of the week is and what you get up to chillax.

Featured song – Artist: 써드코스트(3rd Coast) –  Album: Altered Surface – Track:  Love Solstice

Featured Piano Piece – Fascination Waltz” transcribed and rearranged by Miranda Wong

“Always be a first rate version of yourself, instead of a second rate version of somebody else”

Judy Garland

 

What do you think? Leave a comment below!