Because I got it before you…(oh, and Merry Christmas!)

I’m still here  – a record for me. Despite my sporadic entries, I haven’t yet neglected this whole blogging business so I’m afraid you’re going to put up with me a little more until I do.  It’s inevitable that I will forget all about like all the good intentions I have. It’s in my nature. It’s just a question of when. Anyways, down to today’s topic.

Do you know what I find annoying and stupid? People “owning” human characteristics. It goes a bit like this:

Person A: *Trying to be cute*

Person B:”Stop trying to act cute. You can’t be cute. I’m the cute one. Therefore, you can’t be cute”.

This is just one of many absurd things I hear from my siblings and cousins – mostly my siblings. Not doubt influenced drama, music and movies (mostly Korean), the idea seems to be the desire to become more like their idols by imitating their characteristics traits and styles. And once, they do, and for some ridiculous reason, they suddenly become “owners” of these characteristics.

Am I just being grumpy? But since when did people ever own characterics and human traits? Just because they are trying to act cute first doesn’t mean others can’t act cute too. Seriously, wtf. Of course it doesn’t have to be cute. It could be macho, it could be cool, it could awesome (that’s me apparently). But seriously, since, when did these people ever “own” human traits?

It’s not just characteristics but alarmingly spilling to ownership of consumer goods. This, I find, equally absurd. Why can’t have I have a particular good just because you got it before me? It goes a bit like this:

Person A: “I’m thinking of getting iPhone 4 for Christmas”.

Person B: No you can’t get an iPhone. I already have one.

A: Er, so?

B: “You’re copying me. You should get your own sense of style.”

Wtf. How absurd would it sound if I was explaining to someone that the reason I didn’t get an iPhone was because someone else got one before me? I never got an iPhone 4 for Christmas…(not because of the reason above though!

So please, for the sake of my sanity, quit it (you know who you are). GRR!

Sorry for the rant :S It’s just one of those things  find stupid and I was just wondering if you have similar experience. Do you have someone like that in your family?

On a happier note, Christmas has just gone by (today is Boxing day). I know this is a little late but I hope you had a wonderful Christmas, got all the presents you’d hoped for and spent it around loving friends and families and everyone close to you :)

See you in 2011!

What do you think? Leave a comment below!