Catching up

A couple of days ago, I finally caught up with 2 friends I hadn’t seen for a long, long time. Actually, to be exact, we haven’t seen each other for 1-2 years. Doesn’t sound very long. But it feels so, considering so many things happened since we last caught up.

It was great. We reminisced and filled the happenings in our life (and our wine glass). The last time I met my friend, she was still at university with a year left to study in Leeds. Now she’s graduated and with a job in canary Wharf and a flat of her own in London. Amazing what can happen in just a year. My other friend is was studying English Literature for a year at the same university as me. Now she’s moved on, studying Linguistics at University College London.

It just goes to show that once you make a new friend, and as long as you both put the effort in,  it’s a friend for life and I’m extremely grateful for their friendship and companionship.

As in the case of wines that improve with age, the oldest friendship ought to be the most delightful

“Man’s nest support is a very dear friend”.

Cicero

What do you think? Leave a comment below!