Can a picture really capture a moment in time ?

I truly believe that pictures can definitely capture a moment in time.

I’m a huge fan of photography and I first got into photography when my Dad gave me my first camera phone in my first year at university. I remember it well. It was the Sony Ericsson K850i. I loved it, not just because it was top of the range back then with an awesome 5MP camera, but it was also my first colourful phone and for once, I owned something that look like from the 80’s. Soon I was snapping away at friends and landscapes and even on my holiday to Thailand.

I really do believe in the words “pictures can tell a thousand words”. From the colours of the pictures and the subjects. Pictures can take me back to particular time and remind me of a day and the happy times in my life.

I recently looked back at some of the pictures I’ve taken over the years and I smiled to myself how I’ve come to document my life in all the pictures I’ve taken. The good times at theme parks. My graduation. Old friends. I keep all my pictures in folders according to months so I know which year and month they were taken.

Strangely though, despite my love for pictures and cameras. I don’t actually own one. My family has a compact, point and shoot camera which is very, very good. But it belongs to the family and is open to everyone to take at any time.. But, I’m clearly the one who uses it the most.  I’ve been wanting a DSLR camera for a long long time but don’t have the funds for it though one day I’m sure I’ll get one.

In the next few days, I’ll be heading to a wedding. Super excited. But with the camera with my brother, who is away in Thailand, I feel quite disappointed that I won’t be able to record to this amazing occasion.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What do you think? Leave a comment below!