Wedding Trip Part 2

My next stop after Newcastle took me to a small village in Daventry in Northamptonshire, not too far from Birmingham. I was going to stay with the grooms family on the few days leading up to the wedding.

I see green grass!

I must admit I was a little nervous. I was meeting my friend’s parents for the first time and I had to be on best behaviour. My first thing I had to do was to actually find them at Derby station. Tricky, as I was travelling ahead and I haven’t met them before. I was given specific instruction as to where to wait but being a fool, I immediately got lost and panicked. Luckily he found me just as I was about to take the wrong turn.We’d never met before but somehow still managed to suss out I was probably the person he was looking for. What probably gave it away was the fact that he saw an Asian looking boy with a luggage looking completely loss. Bingo.

Home made jacket potato with Tuna mayo filling. Yum!

The first thing that struck on my arrival was just how quiet and peaceful the village was, a world away from the hustle and bustle of London. I took in the beauty of the countryside and was able to relive some of my favourite childhood activities – the swings and Frisbee. I’m still a city boy at heart but once in a while it’s good to take a break from it all.

The beauty of the countryside. This whole open space just for us :)

For 3 nights I stayed and during those times, I felt right at home. It was a brilliant 3 days and all my worries, what with deadline applications for jobs looming, all seemed to have disappeared. A massive thank you for everything that they’ve done for me.  It was nice to see both the groom and bride family meet and chill together before the big day. One big family now :) I was invited  for lunch, we had dinner together and there was plenty of wine to go round. All for their generosity. Thank you.

One for Lunch! Fruit of the Forest Cheesecake. Yummm.

It’s made me even more grateful for the life that I lead. I have wonderful friends to support me and it’s moment like these that make life so sweet.

Sunday lunch at Milmore pub :)

What do you think? Leave a comment below!