TREK BLOG #1: WHAT WAS I THINKING?!?!

This summer on the 6th June, I will be taking part in a 100km walk from London to Brighton in support of Blind Veteran UK, a charity that “provide vision impaired Armed Forces and National Service veterans with the person-centred services and tailored support they need to discover life beyond sight loss”.

Tower Bridge. So often confused with London Bridge, it took 8 years to build and was completed in 1894
Tower Bridge. So often confused with London Bridge, it took 8 years to build and was completed in 1894

Unemployment sucks and in my determination to rid of the boredom from firing job applications, I enthusiastically accepted the walking challenge when a buddy mentioned it to me after dinner. A chance to do something to raise awareness and do something for charity? Yes please. We are only walking right? I love walking and love my long walk during lunchtime. Should be tough but I can definitely pull this off no problem, right?

wpid-1432649095044.jpg

And so begin my first training session. Waking up at the crack of dawn, bright-eyed and busy tailed, I set of from home to the Towers of London. Nice 15km from East London to The City. I made it comfortably enough, but that’s without the gear on my back that will no doubt weigh me down on the trail. But still. I felt good. I was optimistic. I had fun. Things were looking up.

Since then, I’ve completed 2 more morning training sessions. On my second walk, I ended up in Big Ben. 20km done. Still feeling good and this time, I’ve added packed a backpack to add some light weight.

wpid-1432649094766.jpg
The Palace of Westminster of Big Ben (although it’s official name is the Elizabeth Tower)

But by my third walk, and much like Spurs’ Champions League dream, I feel my initial enthusiasm starting to dwindle. This time, I ended up by St. Pauls’ Cathedral. Standing in the shadows of St. Paul’s Cathedral on my 2 knackered legs and aching feet,  only now am I beginning to fully appreciate the enormous challenge ahead of me. And I’ve only done 25km! I haven’t even started to climb up hills and walk on terrains I am most likely to face! If the almighty Lord happened to be inside the great Cathedral, I hope he’s heard my prayers because I’ll be needing all the luck I can get.

Hidden Gems: One of many perks of getting around London by foot is finding little beauty spots like these. Situated in Wapping beside the oldest riverside pub in London, The Prospect of Whitby, people can walk down a flight of steps on frolick on the banks of the Thames.
Hidden Gems: One of many perks of getting around London by foot is finding little beauty spots like these. Situated in Wapping beside the oldest riverside pub in London, The Prospect of Whitby, people can walk down a flight of steps on frolick on the banks of the Thames.

As I write this, it is the 25 May. I’ll need to dome serious training to get to the level of fitness required in the short amount of time I have to overcome this challenge. I can do it. can’t I?

You’ll have to stay tuned to find out!

k

What do you think? Leave a comment below!