LONDON 10KM WINTER RUN #2: FUNDRAISING

It’s less than 7 days till the London 10km Winter Run, and as you can imagine, I am both excited and nervous at the same time.

Not only is it my very first 10km run (hopefully the first of many), I am also looking forward to hearing and feeling the energy of the crowd. It’s been a while since I’ve been part of such a sporting event since I left school :)

I cannot lie, training could have gone better. I’ve bought a new pair of trainers to help. But a common cold took me down last weekend which curtailed any chance of further distance training. Despite my lack of fitness and training, whatever happens between now and the race, I am aiming to finish this 10km – even if it’s the last thing I do!

DSC_0233

 

Whatever the pain I go through, I know it will all be worth it. It’s for a tremendously worthy cause and I’d be more than willing to push myself hard and raise as much money as I can in the process. I am also dedicating my run in memory of a very special man who was very close to me and to a whole community.

A couple of months after I left secondary school, I was told of the sad news that my old boarding housemaster, Mr Grahame Ward, had sadly passed away after a long and brave fight against cancer. Grahame will forever be remembered as a hugely popular and much-loved arts teacher at school, who cared greatly for his students and those lucky to be taken under his wing. He was a talented artist and a great friend to all those who knew him.

2061f579-6750-4910-ade1-ec3b9248f2ec
Much loved and sorely missed: Mr Grahame Ward in 2006

I remember Grahame best as a father figure. His warm and friendly personality made the  unfamiliar surroundings of a new town, new school, my new home and he looked out for me in the seven years I was a boarder. His tireless work around the boarding house, even beyond school hours was incredible. Grahame has taught me many values which I still hold dearly today and I wouldn’t be the man I am today without him.

In memory of Grahame and for Cancer Research, I am taking on this challenge. You can find more about my story and fundraising page here, and if you’re feeling generous, please feel free to donate: https://www.justgiving.com/Kritt-Normsaskul-1028962

Every penny, every donation, no matter how small or big, will make a huge difference and  will all be going towards an amazing cause. Let’s freeze cancer in its tracks so that inspirational figures like Grahame can continue to inspire those around them.

What do you think? Leave a comment below!